Recipe: Quinoa Lime Chili

I came across this chili at a restaurant when I was home in New Jersey. I didn’t even order it, I just ogled the description of the dish and thought, “That sounds great, I bet I can make that!” Turns out, I indeed can!

This chili turned out to be everything I hoped – it is vegetarian, spicy, filling, smokey, and bright. And it is an easy one-pot wonder which always wins points in my book.

image

Recipe: Quinoa Lime Chili

Ingredients:
1 clove garlic, diced
1 onion, roughly diced
2 tbsp. olive oil
2 red bell peppers, roughly diced
2 large tomatoes, seeded and diced
1 can pinto beans, drained
1 can black beans, drained
2 limes, zest and juice
1 cup quinoa
1 tbsp taco seasoning (cumin, cayenne pepper, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, oregano, smoked paprika)
1 cup water

To Make:
1. Heat olive oil in a large pot and add onion and garlic. Cook over light-medium heat until onions are caramelized.
2. Add tomatoes and peppers, reducing heat slightly.
3. Add lime zest and taco seasoning and cook for 3-5 minutes until vegetables soften.
4. Meanwhile, cook 1 cup quinoa according to package directions.
5. Add beans and water to pot, bring to a simmer. Cover and let cook for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
6. Add cooked quinoa and lime juice. Salt to taste and serve immediately.

I hope you enjoy this warming (and Arlington Darling original) recipe as we finish up winter!

One thought on “Recipe: Quinoa Lime Chili

  1. I can actually make this here in the ‘desh! Woohoo! (Okay, minus the black beans – but I’ll just maybe do kidney beans instead?) So excited 🙂

Leave a Reply

