Partying and the Bechdel Test

It’s getting late, so a quick post tonight :).

I loved reading about Sweden’s new movie ratings. For a movie to receive an “A” rating under the new system, it must have: 1) two female characters who 2) talk to each other about 3) anything other than men. It’s a rough metric but I love the idea of it. Women’s presence in media, particularly in the more static form of film (vs. media such as TV or even social media) hasn’t changed much in the past few decades, and its time we realize it. Many of my favorite movies don’t meet this criteria, and what message is that sending?

And on a much less serious note, I identified completely with Cosmo’s Stages of Partying by Age. I’m not sure that the pre-teen years align with my experience, but my post-college Arlington years definitely align. Vodka cranberries at Public, anyone? Napoleon in our “high, painful shoes”? And then Napoleon in our flats. And then, not Napoleon at all except on very special occasions when we buy…wait for it…overly priced vodka cranberries (‘scuse me, vodka sodas now because we are, like, so mature and serious). Age 26’s classy cheese parties definitely happened this year. I’ll have to keep you posted about 27+ though, haven’t gotten there yet ;).

Happy hump day!

2 thoughts on “Partying and the Bechdel Test

  1. HAHA the Cosmo link is funny! I’m still at the stage where strange guys buy me drinks, and I force myself to down tequila shots so I can fee like I’m living it up or something. I loved the age 30 line.

Leave a Reply

