Loving: Lime Zest

Hello again, my darlings. It has been too, too long! I think the fact that I haven’t posted in…erm, over a month (oops!) is indicative of early summertime in DC. There’s just too many fun outside things to do! As much as I love blogging, I would just rather be outside than inside tied to my computer :).

One thing I am loving in my summertime cooking is lime zest! I have been putting it on everything – I’m going through like 10 limes a week. I promise you that if you’re in a food rut, using lime zest in your cooking will change your life. It brightens up food like lemon juice is supposed to do, but it is super intense and almost salty (I don’t know where that comes from but it adds a similar intensity that is sharp and addictive just like salt). Lately, I’ve put lime zest on:

  • Cucumber salsa
  • Popcorn (seriously yummy – especially with a little oregano and paprika)
  • Corn salad
  • Avocado toasts

The lime juice usually follows the zest in my recipes. But definitely get that yummy zest off of your limes before juicing them!

Happy liming :).

Leave a Reply

