Recipe: Vegan Lunch Bowl

Do you ever see a recipe and think, “oh I know exactly what that’ll taste like.” Sometimes it’s a good thing, but sometimes it de-motivates you to make the recipe because you feel bored by it – and you haven’t even tried it yet! I do it all the time, especially since I’m continually trying to eat more vegetables and less dairy, resulting in a lot of recipe finds that are salad-y, quinoa-y, lemon-y things. On one hand, those are some of my favorites, but on the other hand it’s easy to get sick of the flavors and ingredients.

Well folks, this recipe broke me of that habit. I thought I could imagine the flavors together, but I was surprised by this tasty little lunch bowl. The ingredients really worked together to make something unique. I love edamame but don’t often buy them, and of course adding the lemon was critical – but combining it with the hummus made something very special happen.

Vegan Lunch Bowl | Arlington DarlingObviously the recipe is highly customizable and you can add whatever veggies or toppings that you have on hand (I created my own version based on the recipe for a vegan lunch wrap), but I do recommend trying these particular flavors and ingredients for something unexpected. For example, I go through phases of hate/like with carrot, so I almost didn’t include it here, but it really worked so I’m glad I did.

Ingredients:
1 c. (big handful) of chopped spinach leaves
1/2 c. (small handful) of shredded carrot
1/2 c. edamame
2-3 tbsp. roasted red pepper hummus
1 tbsp. vegan mozzarella shreds (optional)
lemon juice, to taste
black pepper, to taste

To Make:
1. Add all ingredients to bowl.
2. Mix up.
3. Enjoy!

Now I know what I’ll be eating for lunch all week :).

Vegan Lunch Bowl | Arlington Darling

Leave a Reply

