The joys of moving, and learning something new

As I alluded to earlier this week, I recently moved into a new apartment! It’s the perfect change for me right now, and I couldn’t be happier.

However, that did mean a lot of moving, packing, and figuring out what was mine. I’d lived in my previous place for almost 4 years and the amount of stuff that accumulated…my god. I was very lucky that prior roommates (here’s looking at you, Dee) had left things behind for me to keep so I didn’t have to buy a ton of new stuff. Like the bathmat! Always need one of those. And the TV stand, and some art! Score. But it did mean that condensing a 2BR apartment’s worth of stuff into a 0BR apartment’s worth of space was a bit challenging. Plus, some random items turned up that no one is claiming: a huge container of bleach? A sock? Lots and lots and lots of empty mason jars???

Oh wait…the mason jars are mine.

Anyway, one of the lucky items that I got to take with me from the old apartment to the new was the shower curtain. Who wants to buy a new one? Not this girl. I’m all about thrifty reducing, reusing, and recycling. However, the clear plastic shower curtain liner was not looking happy. Luckily we didn’t have mold or mildew problems, but it was covered in soap scum. Gross. So, I scoured the internet to find ways to clean a shower curtain liner and came up with…

Put it in the washing machine.

At first I was all like, “whaaaaaat?” And then I was like “hmmmmm.” And then I was like, “why the hell not.” So I tried it, and it worked! I unfortunately don’t have before and after pictures, but you’ll have to trust me. Here are the steps:

  1. Take the shower curtain liner off of the rod and remove any hooks.
  2. Find some towels or sheets that also need to be washed.
  3. Start your washing machine on the cold/delicates cycle. Very important.
  4. Add detergent (I used a little less than I normally do). Let the washing machine run for a minute or to to let the water fill up. Note: I live in a building with top-loading washers but I’m sure this will work just as well with front-loading – perhaps even better.
  5. Add another item first, then the shower curtain liner, then the rest of the items. Close the lid and let the machine do its magic.
  6. When the cycle is done, take the shower curtain liner out and hang it back up to dry in your shower. Do not put it in the dryer. The heat will melt it.

My liner doesn’t look 100% brand-new, but all of the soap scum is gone. Magic. I know shower curtain liners only cost about $5 but this load of laundry cost me way less than that, plus I saved money by not going to Target and getting distracted and buying ALL THE THINGS.

See? Learn something new every day. Happy Friday!

One thought on “The joys of moving, and learning something new

  1. Pingback: Happy Anniversary to me! | arlington darling

Leave a Reply

