Valentine’s Day…for those who feel neutral about it

I feel really neutral about Valentine’s Day. I don’t hate it, I don’t love it, and I do acknowledge that it was basically created by the greeting card industry and puts a lot of undue pressure on everyone (singles and couples alike). But in the end, I can’t get myself that worked up about it.

However, it is a good opportunity to have a cute date! I mean, why not? I don’t hate the holiday, I don’t love the holiday, so I might as well treat it like every other day and spend some quality time with someone. And if, like me, you’re not seeing anyone romantically right now, this “someone” is usually another single friend. This year, my valentine is my former coworker CM. We have big plans! (And no, we’re not going to burn old pictures of our ex-boyfriends or play angry chick music or wear black). We are going to make these delicious-looking vegetarian tacos:

Spiced Black Bean, Grilled Avocado, and Goat Cheese Tacos | Naturally Ella

Photo Credit: Naturally Ella

How romantic are black beans, goat cheese, and avocados? Very. Then, we’re going to watch the movie Valentine’s Day! (I know, groan – so typical). But I’ve never seen it and it seemed appropriate.

Happy early Valentine’s Day to: 1) my hot date for tomorrow night; 2) all of my friends, single or not, whom I love dearly; 3) my family (fingers crossed for a Valentine’s care package from my mom!); and 4) my lovely readers :). I hope your day is filled with smiles and hugs from whoever you love.

Muah!

One thought on “Valentine’s Day…for those who feel neutral about it

  1. I feel exactly the same…but optimistically, it’s another day to celebrate whom you choose! I’m choosing my kitchen. (And then BF Friday night…like we normally do, but a bit fancier.) But my kitchen is my everlasting love.

Leave a Reply

