Review: Panas Gourmet Empanadas

A few weeks ago, I was coming back from a Saturday work event (yea, I know – miserable) and was getting pretty hungry. I also needed to run some errands in Dupont. But luckily I was with a cool coworker, and she not only offered to come along on my errand, but pointed out a cool empanada place in Dupont that I’d never noticed before. So we decided to check it out.

Panas Gourmet Empanadas | Arlington DarlingPanas Gourmet Empanadas is in a basement space on P street, west of the circle. It’s cute and bright! You get the sense that these empanadas will be a quick, light, scrumptious meal.

Well…quick and scrumptious they were…but light they were not. We ordered an 8-empanada combination called the “Paranda” and chose mostly vegetarian options. I distinctly remember the Smoked Eggplant tasting very Italian, the Tamal being super spicy, and the BrieArt being my favorite. But they were all so rich! We scoffed at the idea that 8 empanadas would fill us up, and by the end we were stuffed. I think it was the cheese – they’re very generous with it, which made the empanadas delicious but rich.

Panas Gourmet Empanadas | Arlington DarlingVerdict: Panas is yummy and reasonably priced, especially if you go with a group and split a combo. And I do appreciate the variety of vegetarian options. But don’t be fooled into thinking that this is health food – you’ll come away feeling a little regretful in that department.

2 thoughts on “Review: Panas Gourmet Empanadas

  1. N and I went here when she first moved to DC! We didn’t love it so much, but the options you mention sound different. Maybe they have new things to try? I must investigate.

Leave a Reply

