Recipe: Extra-Yummy Chocolate Box Cake

As you all know by now, I’m a lady of convenience. Yes, I like fresh food and yes, I try to be healthy, but sometimes there’s nothing better than opening up a box of packaged food, adding one or two ingredients, heating it up, and calling it a day.

Martha Stewart I am not.

So when my cousin asked me to bring a dessert for Christmas dinner, I wanted to make something special for my family, but easy. So! I took a box of chocolate cake mix and jazzed it up a bit (it was for Christmas, after all – can’t just serve regular ol’ boxed cake! I do have some standards).

Extra-Yummy Chocolate Cake | Arlington DarlingIngredients:
1 box of dark chocolate cake mix (like Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker)
Ingredients to make a boxed cake mix (usually 3 eggs, 1/3 cup oil, and 1/4 cup water)
Butter
Milk

To Make:
1. Empty the dry cake mix into a bowl.
2. Add the usual number of eggs.
3. Substitute half of the oil with melted butter (so if the box calls for 1/3 cup of oil, do 1/6 cup of oil and 1/6 cup of melted butter).
4. Substitute milk for water (so if the box calls for 1/4 cup of water, use 1/4 cup of milk instead).
5. Mix together until blended well (use a hand mixer for a fluffier texture).
6. Bake according to box directions.

I think it tasted much richer than boxed cake usually does and it had a nice gooey quality. As you can see from the picture above, I then frosted it using about a can and a half of regular vanilla frosting and added some festive Christmas sprinkles. Whatever floats your boat. I also used a bundt pan which added to the festive-ness.

No one in my family asked if I had made it from scratch, so I guess I wasn’t truly fooling anyone, but… after all was said and done about half of the cake was eaten so I think that’s quite an accomplishment. Definitely making my boxed cakes this way from now on.

One thought on “Recipe: Extra-Yummy Chocolate Box Cake

Leave a Reply

