Review: Granville Moore’s

I cannot get enough of Granville Moore’s. This gastro pub (am I the only one who hates that term, BTW?) on the H Street corridor serves up delicious beer, fries, and mussels – and a few other dishes which I have never seen anyone order, ever. I’m sure they’re delicious. Everyone just gets mussels. Moving on.

Now before you start muttering, “I don’t want to trek all the way to H Street…” – just stop. Shhhh. Granville Moore’s is worth it. Plus you have a long bus ride home to digest all of your mussels. It really works out quite well. (In all seriousness, I used to bitch about going all the way to H Street too but it really isn’t that bad. I’ve even done it on a weeknight. And I live in Arlington! A whole different state!).

Arlington Darling | Review of Granville Moore'sI went Saturday night with N, her boyfriend, his roommate, and an out-of-town friend. We had to wait for a table but spent the time drinking away our sorrows in the bar next door. Before you could say “another vodka soda, please,” we were whisked away to Granville’s upstairs seating. Then, we ate. And ate. And ate.

We enjoyed the “Jour Ferie” mussels (orange-cranberry cream, grand marnier, duck sausage, cherries), the “Autumn” mussels (butternut & acorn squash cream, pasilla pepper, fried mushrooms), and two orders of the “Marinere” mussels (white wine, garlic, herbs, butter). The Autumn was my personal favorite – flavorful broth, perfectly cooked mussels, and pescetarian to boot. After the meal was over I think we went through 7-8 loaves of bread sopping up all of the sauce. We also had fries with truffle mayo, chipotle mayo, and horseradish cream.

Arlington Darling | Granville Moore's Broth "Shot"

The funniest part of our meal was at the end, when we were reminiscing to our waiter about how good the broth/sauce is, and joked to him, “Does anyone just ever order the broth? It is so good. Like, could you get a shot of it? We would totally do that.” He laughed but then 5 minutes later he came back and reported, “Broth shots are $1.” We promptly ordered two of them. It was weird. But great. And obviously delicious (needless to say).

A few editorial notes about dining at Granville Moore’s:

  1. The mussels dishes are very large. If you want to thoroughly enjoy all of the sauce, you should share with a friend – otherwise some of the sauce will go to waste and I will judge you. Especially if you get fries (and why wouldn’t you?), they will fill you up even more so definitely consider sharing.
  2. The beer is delicious! I don’t like beer that much and I have thoroughly enjoyed every brew I’ve had at Granville’s. However, I suggest having only one – otherwise you’ll be way too full.
  3. The mussels dishes change every so often (I’ve been 3 times this year and they’ve been different each time). Trust me, this is a good thing.

Mmmmm. Eating at Granville Moore’s takes me back to my childhood when my entire family would go out to dinner with my Grandpa. We would order a big plate of mussels, Italian-style with marinara sauce. He loved them. Since I thought mussels were icky back then (hey come on, I was like 5 years old), I didn’t eat any but my Grandpa would let me sit next to him, in the prime spot right by the platter of mussels, and I would sop up the sauce with my bread. Thanks, Grandpa, for starting me off on a great tradition – and thank you, Granville Moore’s, for keeping it alive and delicious.

2 thoughts on “Review: Granville Moore’s

  1. I love this so, so much. Maybe we can go the next time I’m in town? I miss our little adventures, and love reading about yours. So easy to picture you guys ordering the broth shots. xo

Leave a Reply

