Recipe: Three-Ingredient Cocoa Pumpkin Brownies

Given that I eat a lot of ready-to-eat/raw food like veggies, hummus, avocados, yogurt, and fruit (oh, and cheese), I don’t do a lot of “real” cooking. It’s mostly…assembly. As such, I don’t keep perishables like milk and eggs in the house because I don’t really use them that often. This works out fine except for the times when I want to bake. Oh, baking. When I want to bake, I have to plan ahead and make sure I have milk and eggs in the house.

Sigh.

So when I found a two-ingredient recipe that called for only canned/non-perishable ingredients, I was hooked! That’s the perfect recipe for me – no planning ahead or last-minute grocery store runs! Of course, I modified it to make it my own and added a third ingredient. More chocolate.

Arlington Darling | cocoa pumpkin brownies

Ingredients:
1 box brownie mix (I prefer the dark chocolate/fudge kind)
1 can pure pumpkin (Libby’s or Whole Foods brand)
2 tbsp 100% pure cocoa powder

To Make:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Mix brownie mix, cocoa powder, and pumpkin in a large mixing bowl (that’s it!).
3. Spray or grease a 9×9 (or equivalent size) glass pan with baking spray.
4. Pour mix into the pan.
5. Bake for 30 minutes.

Note about baking time: I baked my brownies for 30 minutes, and the edge pieces were cooked but the middle pieces still had a batter-like consistency. So I removed the edge pieces and continued to bake the middle pieces on their own in the pan for another 15 minutes. A little ad hoc but it worked :). I need one of these:

The brownies don’t taste exactly like regular brownies – you can definitely tell that they don’t contain any oil, butter, or eggs. But they are ooey-gooey and very chocolatey in flavor (thanks to the cocoa powder), and they hit the spot when you’re in the mood for some last-minute unplanned baking. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Three-Ingredient Cocoa Pumpkin Brownies

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Vegetarian Pumpkin Lentil Curry Soup | arlington darling

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Grandma JJ’s Apple Crisp | arlington darling

Leave a Reply

