Recipe: Tomato Soup Mac N Cheese

Sometimes a girl needs comfort food. And what could be more comforting in the beginning of October than a warm, gooey combination of tomato soup, grilled cheese, and mac n cheese?

Nothin’.

I made this recipe with G (or, as she will tell you, she poured the wine for us as I slapped things together in the kitchen – good teamwork, I say!). It was a night for minimal effort and indulgence, and luckily this recipe is super simple and hard to mess up. And luckily for us, it goes very well with wine!

Our result ended up a little overly gooey, but it set up the longer we let it sit (our first portion, naturally, was gobbled up the instant it came out of the oven). I would recommend cutting back slightly on the milk or soup if you prefer a more casserole-type consistency. But we didn’t mind that it was more like a stew. Like I said, it is very hard to mess up this deliciousness.

I adapted the recipe (and this gorgeous photo) from A Local Choice, from her post on local cheese. I wish I had some local fresh cheese to use in this recipe, but alas, I had to make do with what I found at my local Whole Foods. The recipe is adapted as such.

Ingredients:
1/2 lb whole wheat elbow macaroni
5 oz. (roughly 2/3 of the block) extra-sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
5 oz. of part-skim or fat-free ricotta cheese
10 oz. (1 can) tomato soup (I used Amy’s brand but Campbell’s would be great for a classic flavor)
10 oz. fat-free milk

To Make:
1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
2. Cook pasta in boiling salted water until barely el dente (not all the way cooked).
3. Drain pasta and mix in a large bowl with the ricotta cheese.
4. Add the milk, tomato soup, and cheddar cheese (reserving a handful). Mix.
5. Pour into an 8×8 baking dish (or you could use individual ramekins).
6. Sprinkle the remaining handful of cheddar cheese on top.
7. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

Enjoy! And welcome to autumn!

For more autumn fun, head on over to:
Charlottesville fall adventure recap
Grandma JJ’s apple crisp recipe
Fall foliage pictures from Ricketts Glen
And, in preparation for the upcoming holiday season, my 2012 gift shopping list 🙂

Leave a Reply

