Ina Garten at Sixth and I

UPDATE: The event with Ina has been postponed to December 12th at 7:30pm. 

I’ve loved watching Ina Garten on the Barefoot Contessa ever since my mom and I got hooked on the Food Network when I was in high school. I would get home from cross country practice, turn on the Food Network, and bug my mom about food until dinner was ready. I was such a delight as a teenager.

Ina is a warm, ethereal, and talented chef (cook?) whose show features predominantly French cuisine. I will confess that I’ve never tried any of her recipes, though not for a lack of wanting to. Which is why this upcoming Sixth and I event might be the perfect opportunity for me…

Ina Garten is coming to Sixth and I in DC on October 31st  to offer recipes for entertaining and everyday meals in her new book Barefoot Contessa Foolproof: Recipes You Can Trust. According to the event website, she’ll be offering “instructions for mapping out a ‘game plan’ to ensure your meal is ready on time, plus foolproof tips for cooking and table settings.” The program will not have a book signing (so probably little or no chance of meeting Ina :() but each ticket does include a signed copy of the book.

Event starts at 7pm and doors open at 6pm. Tickets are $42.50 – but think of all the money you’ll save on Halloween candy since you won’t be at home to give it out!

Thanks to my book club buddy Amanda for giving me the heads up about Ina!

Leave a Reply

