Recap of Charlottesville

I am fresh from a mini-vaca in Charlottesville, VA and ready to jump back into DC life! Mostly, I’m super excited for fall in DC — this morning was gorgeous, no?

I spent most of the weekend with my dear friend and former coworker LV who has moved to Charlottesville for grad school. It was so good to see her that I can’t even form the words to write about it. We hung out on the corner, had drinks on the downtown mall, and watched an odd movie called Better off Dead (John Cusack is hot and that’s about all you need to know). The best part of the weekend was catching up with her and getting some quality KL-LV time — but I think she will agree that the second-best part was the brunch at Blue Moon Diner.

We were both blown away by our dishes. I ordered the Huevos Bluemoonos, a twist on huevos rancheros. It was the perfect mix of cheese, eggs, and salsa, with a biscuit on the side (of course). LV ordered the special: a twist on eggs benedict. Hers had spicy tomato sauce, poached duck eggs, and crispy ham. Yum. I know Charlottesville is overflowing with delicious restaurants but the Blue Moon Diner is my new favorite.

On Sunday, I met up with a friend from grammar school, JS. We’ve known each other since kindergarten so it was really special to see her since I hardly ever do, and get a chance to act like adults together! We went to a few wineries and a brewery and enjoyed the beautiful late summer Charlottesville weather.

Once again, the close-second-best part of the day was the food. We first had the apple cider donuts at Carter Mountain Orchard, and they were incredible. I’m not a big sweets person, but these were crispy, warm, covered in cinnamon sugar, and oh-so-perfect for a fall morning. Our initial plan was to get a half dozen, eat some, and take the rest home… but they barely made it to the afternoon :). After taking the tour at King Family Vineyards, we picked up sandwiches at the nearby Greenwood Gourmet grocery. This small country store is not kidding around about their sandwiches — I will honestly say that they were some of the best I’ve ever had. JS and I split two vegetarian options: the Melrose (grilled portobello mushrooms, red onion, roasted peppers, arugula, and homemade Pimento cheese) and a special: Eggplant Caponata (eggplant, goat cheese, and greens). Enjoying them side by side as we watched the polo match back at King Family vineyards was the perfect way to cap off my weekend in Charlottesville.

Recap: get psyched for autumn in DC, and if you’re in Charlottesville (I will be there again soon for sure) check out Blue Moon Diner, Carter Mountain, and Greenwood Gourmet.

4 thoughts on “Recap of Charlottesville

  1. Pingback: Recap of Charlottesville Part II – It’s Finally Fall | arlington darling

  2. Pingback: Happy Anniversary to me! | arlington darling

Leave a Reply

