Soundtrack of Your Life

I don’t think anyone would label me as a music snob or say that I am at all knowledgeable about music. In fact, in college, the chair of the music committee for our campus programming board would often come to me as a “popularity check” — his theory being that if I had heard of a band, that band was sufficiently mainstream to bring to campus. I’m very happy in my little bubble of pop radio, the occasional “indie” band that my friends introduce me to, and the oldies that I grew up listening to. Which brings me to this NPR article about the soundtrack of our lives and what it says about us.

In the article, NPR introduces professor Eric Clarke and the project called Six Songs of Me which has the goal to map people’s personal playlists (soundtracks of their lives) in order to better understand why music is meaningful to us. The site asks its visitors to answer six questions:

  • What was the first song you ever bought?
  • What song always gets you dancing?
  • What song takes you back to your childhood?
  • What is your perfect love song?
  • What song would you want at your funeral?
  • Time for an encore. One last song that makes you, you.

I love the premise of this, and given my recent explorations into my musical past, I decided to fill it out. No judgements, ya’ll–I am making a contribution to science.

  • What was the first song you ever bought? Heartbreaker, by Mariah Carey
  • What song always gets you dancing? Ride Wit Me, by Nelly
  • What song takes you back to your childhood? Vacation, by Go-Gos, or any oldies
  • What is your perfect love song? It’s a tie: Come What May, by Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman (Moulin Rouge) or In Your Eyes, by Peter Gabriel
  • What song would you want at your funeral? Katy Says Today, Christine Lavin or At the Beginning, by Richard Marx and Donna Lewis (Anastasia)
  • Time for an encore. One last song that makes you, you. Man that’s tough. Can I put Ride Wit Me again? No, no. Okay. What about Soul Meets Body, by Death Cab for Cutie. Or Moves Like Jagger, by Maroon 5? No, I’ve got it: 1000 Julys, by Third Eye Blind. Boom.

I wonder what the soundtrack of my life says about me. Probably that I grew up in the late 1980s, have questionably poor taste in music, and that I think I’m a gangster. Yep, that’s me.

Now excuse me while I go listen to some Third Eye Blind.

And speaking of soundtracks, check out this birthday playlist created by the lovely ladies of This is Our Jam DC for my dear friend Kristen – happy birthday girl!

2 thoughts on “Soundtrack of Your Life

Leave a Reply

