Make a little “me” time

Lately I’ve been working really, really long hours at the office. Between catching up after my vacation, to the multiple proposal efforts, to some very demanding client projects and workshops, I can barely find time to shower, go grocery shopping, or see my friends.

You might be thinking, “well ew, if you don’t have time to shower, how do you find time to blog? Go shower…now.” The honest answer is that I don’t always have the time to blog. But when I get an idea for a post, I write it down and try to create a complete blog post then and there – even if I don’t want to publish it right away. Then during busy times, I can pull up the entry and publish it with very little effort (I feel like I’m sharing my dirty, guilty blogging secrets!). But the other reason that I still blog even when life is crazy is because it’s a stress release for me to share my thoughts with the world – and I get happy endorphins when I see how many people have stopped by to read.

But I think the question of how we de-stress when there isn’t enough time to de-stress is a good one. Exercise is one that people always talk about, but how do you find the time to exercise if you’re working or going to school or dealing with family issues from the second you wake up until the second your heads hits the pillow (if you even make it to bed)? Not to mention that showering usually needs to come after exercise, and most people’s gyms or studios are not located near their homes or offices…and you get the picture.

Have no fear! Inspired by this article, I’ve compiled a list of how I de-stress (or reduce stress) when I’m running around like a chicken with my head cut off. In other words, how do I find “me” time? I hope this helps you if you find yourself really, really busy.

  • Wear a fierce outfit. You know the shirt you’ve been saving for a hot date? Put it on. It’ll boost your mood and make you feel like you can tackle everything.
  • Pick one thing you can do each day for yourself, make an organized plan of attack for all of the other crap, and then communicate it to the people who matter. For example: today I will go to core barre in the morning and then work the rest of the day. I have items due to my work team in the evening so I know I’ll stick to this schedule. It always, always, makes things easier if you have a plan and you know there’s something for you in it.
  • Go to this website for 60 seconds and feel amazing afterwards: http://thenicestplaceontheinter.net/
  • Get off of the computer (say a temporary goodbye to Arlington Darling, I’ll be here when you get back!). Stand outside for 1 minute. Take deep breaths. Remind yourself that there is a whole bustling world of sunshine outside of your office/school/home.
  • Eat well. Believe me, I know how hard this is when you don’t have the time to go grocery shopping and cook a healthy meal. But if you load your body with crap you’ll feel like crap. If you’re like me, I have wonderful friends and family who will say “what can I do to help?” Take them up on this. Ask a friend to make extra for their dinner and bring it over to you (bonus: you get a few minutes of friend time!). Ask your roommate if they’ll pick up some fruits and veggies for you when they go to the grocery store. The best part about fruits and veggies is that they can be eaten raw – no cooking time needed!

If you’re having a hectic week, good luck and I hope you find this list useful. If you have Labor Day weekend entirely at your disposal, go out there and enjoy it!

One thought on “Make a little “me” time

Leave a Reply

