Popcorn for Dinner

Upon hearing that I am a pescetarian, people often ask me, “what do you eat?” More specifically, they often wonder what I eat for dinner. The answer is popcorn.

Yep! Popcorn.

A few months ago I wrote a post about making homemade popcorn. Surprisingly, I still make and eat it almost every day. Well, it’s not surprising because it is very, very delicious, but you think I would’ve gotten sick of it by now. I’ve gone through about 6 bags of Trader Joe’s popping corn. I will have no judgment from you all about the amount of popcorn that this is (22 servings per bag times 6 bags…eep).

So, yeah. I eat popcorn for dinner pretty frequently. Sometimes it follows dinner, sometimes it comprises the dinner. Well, it has been said that we should eat “breakfast like a king, lunch like a lord, and dinner like a pauper.” I have no clue what paupers eat but it’s probably not a lot, so one serving of popcorn ought to do it! This is my logic. But my logic doesn’t need to stand alone anymore. One of my favorite bloggers, Tracy from Shutterbean, wrote this post a few days ago about her recipe for Mexican Popcorn:

“This Mexican Popcorn is my new favorite thing. Happy Hours REJOICE! And if you’re just eating popcorn for dinner on a Monday night by yourself, that’s totally fine too.  Don’t listen to what my mom has to say about popcorn being an unacceptable dinner. If you do eat it for dinner, I would suggest putting your popcorn in a bowl. Don’t eat it out of the pot.”

Boo ya to the people who don’t think popcorn can be dinner! A respected blogger (I do not qualify yet as a respected blogger so I must turn to other sources like Shutterbean) has indicated her approval. It is law. I also approve of her plan to have it for happy hour and to spice it up with paprika, oregano, cumin, and lime. I will try that soon and let you all know how it goes.

Shutterbean | Mexican PopcornPhoto Credit: Shutterbean

Leave a Reply

