Recipe: Roasted Tomato and Spinach Quinoa

Roasted Tomato and Spinach Quinoa

I went to the grocery store the other day after my Barre3 class. I wasn’t hungry, as I had been eating well throughout the day, but man, was I thirsty! You know how you are not supposed to go grocery shopping when hungry because you’ll come home with a wheel of cheese, box of crackers, 2 lemons, and a frozen pizza? Guilty. Well, I have a new piece of advice: don’t go to the grocery store thirsty, either!

You will end up with a lot of produce, and nothing else.

I must have been very thirsty because instead of just picking up a bottle of water, I purchased 2 avocados, bag of spinach, cherry tomatoes, 3 lemons, blueberries, raspberries, 3 bananas, 1 zucchini, celery, baby carrots, and 4 cans of soup. What the heck was I going to make with all of that produce?! And for the record I don’t even like cherry tomatoes. Go figure.

So I had to come up with a recipe to use up the produce, especially those cherry tomatoes. Since I don’t really like raw tomatoes, I knew I’d have to alter them in some way. I thought, why not roast them! And then why don’t I add it to some quinoa, which I always have on hand? Viola! Simple and easy recipe.

Roasted Tomato and Spinach Quinoa

Enjoy!

Roasted Tomato and Spinach Quinoa
Ingredients:
1 cup uncooked quinoa
1.5 cups shredded raw spinach leaves
20-30 cherry tomatoes (or sub 3-4 regular tomatoes)
1 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp grated parmesan cheese
Salt and pepper, to taste
Italian spices (garlic, oregano, basil), to taste

To make:
1. Preheat the oven to 375. Cut the cherry tomatoes in half and place on a baking sheet. If using regular tomatoes, cut into quarters and remove the seeds.
2. Coat the tomatoes in olive oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper, and Italian spices to taste. Roast in the oven for 25-30 minutes (longer if using regular tomatoes).
3. While the tomatoes roast, cook the quinoa according to package directions (be sure to salt the cooking water).
4. While waiting for the quinoa and the tomatoes, shred or slice the spinach leaves into bite-sized pieces. Set aside.
5. After the tomatoes and quinoa are done, combine in a medium bowl and add the spinach, parmesan cheese, and additional salt, pepper, or Italian herbs to taste (fresh basil would be wonderful – I didn’t have any on hand).
6. Serve warm.
Makes 4 servings.

Roasted Tomato and Spinach Quinoa

Leave a Reply

